CPIFA News Location: 首页>CPIFA News

The Eminent Persons Forum on Lancang-Mekong Cooperation Successfully Held

size: A A A
On November 8 2022, The Eminent Persons Forum on Lancang-Mekong Cooperation organized by the Chinese People’s Institute of Foreign Affairs (CPIFA) was successfully held via video link. Wu Jianghao, Assistant Foreign Minister of China sent pre-recorded congratulatory messages,Li Zhaoxing, Honorary President of CPIFA and former Chinese Foreign Minister and U Kyaw Myo Htut, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, Myanmar (LMC Co-chair) delivered the opening remarks. Anuson Chinvanno, former Deputy Secretary-General to Thai Prime Minister and Li Jie, Vice President of CPIFA made the concluding remarks.
Representatives from 6 Lancang-Mekong river nations highly commended the achievements made during the last 6 years since the launch of the Lancang-Mekong Cooperation Mechanism, put forward ideas and suggestions on how to further promote post-pandemic economic recovery and growth, deepen cooperation in various fields,  enhance people to people exchanges and expressed their desire and willingness to play active roles in achieving the above mentioned goals.       
Over 20 delegates attended the forum. The Chinese delegation includes Hu Zhengyue, Vice President of the China Public Diplomacy Association and former Assistant Minister of Foreign Affairs; Zhao Jinping, Research Fellow and former Director-General of the Department of Foreign Economic Relations, Development Research Center of the State Council; Rong Ying, Vice President and Senior Research Fellow, China Institute of International Studies and Wang Hongke, Deputy General Manager of the Overseas Department, China Railway Construction Group Co., Ltd. The Mekong river nations delegation includes Tran Dac Loi, Permanent Vice-President of the Vietnam Peace and Development Foundation, former Vice Chairman of the Communist Party of Vietnam Central Committee’s Commission for External Relations; Pou Sothirak, Executive Director of Cambodian Institute for Cooperation and Peace, former Secretary of State of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation of Cambodia; Sayakane Sisouvong, president of Lao Diplomatic Club,former Deputy Secretary General of ASEAN, former Permanent Secretary of Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and former Ambassador to the United Kingdom of the Lao PDR; Thant Kyaw, Chairman of Myanmar Strategic and International Studies Institute, former Deputy Minister of Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Myanmar; Tean Samnang, President of National Institute of Diplomacy and International Relations; Suon Sophal, Director of Public Relations and Promotion of Private Investment of the Council for the Development of Cambodia; Vanh Dilaphanh, Acting Director of General Department of Planning and Finance, Ministry of Public Works and Transport, Lao PDR; Win Zeya Tun,Vice Chair of the LMC National Coordination Unit; Panitarn Pavarolavidya, Executive and Deputy Secretary General of the Federation of Thai Industries and other eminent persons from business and academic sectors.